শনিবার, ২৫ মে, ২০১৩

Google’s Inactive Account Manager To Plan Your Digital Afterlife


Are you bothered about your Gmail account and other Google offered accounts like Google+ or YouTube, after your death ? Stop bothering now as Google has found a way to deal with all your accounts.
On Thursday the search engine giant introduced a feature called Inactive Account Manager which allows you to manage all your emails, videos and documents from your Google accounts like Gmail, YouTube, Picasa and Drive if your account is disabled for any unknown reason. This new feature is accessible from your Google account setting page
The “Timeout period” will allow you to set a time duration of your account. If you set a time period of three, six, nine or 12 months, then post that Google will delete or deactivate your account. Google in this new feature also allows you to share the data with an account of your trusted family member or friend.

If you are not accessing any of your Google accounts for couple of months or year, then Google will send an email to your secondary address or text reminder regarding account status before timeout periods are ended. According to Google, this new feature will enable you to protect your data from unauthorized access and plan your digital afterlife.
It’s a great move by Google to have an option to deactivate the account, remove all data from Google services(Youtube, Google+ profiles, Drive and Picasa) or pass it to your trusted friend or a family member, while other online services follow different approach which are a bit complicated to deal with this situation. We believe that this new feature is an easier way for the users to plan their digital life.
How you are going to manage all your Google accounts?

0 comments: